Some people believe that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matter is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an idea that employers should pay attention to the quality of employees instead of their dressing style. I completely agree with this idea because what staff members perform has more significant effects on the development of a company than what they wear. Firstly, some companies make rules of employees’ uniforms, so people are forced to wear the same dress code when they are working. This is a way to emphasize the staff as a whole in order to align people’s behaviour. However, this method would strict the staff ’s creativity. People decide what to wear is an expression of their opinion and habit, so the strict dress codes sometimes are completely unnecessary in the technology or creative sectors. Some technology giants, like Microsoft and Google, are famous for their relaxed working environment that they create. They encourage their staff to wear freely in order to create a friendly and open culture for people. During this working atmosphere, it is more likely to be inspired to creative and unique opinions. Secondly, I would argue that producing work of outstanding quality is at heart rather than professional uniforms. A person wearing smart, formal attire does not mean he or she is professional. In addition, with the development of the Internet, there is an increasing number of distance works or jobs, and many people choose to work at home. Some people who work as online teachers, for example, can wear casually as they like. Students focus on their teaching skills and methods instead of what they wear.   In conclusion, I definitely agree with the idea that employers should have an open mind to the dressing style of their employees and try to improve the work quality of their staff.