Space exploration costs taxpayers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

The cost of research for outer space per year is humongous and is paid using tax collected from the public. The essay will suggest in the ensuing paragraphs that place for future stay is the major benefits of this and divergence of funds from real pressing issues is the biggest drawback. The most evident benefit of pursuing space exploration is the requirement for a place to stay soon. This is because the natural resources are depleting at alarming rates leading the human race in search of a different place with more resources than current requirements. Furthermore, natural disasters have tremendously increased in the last decade, making living in the earth more precarious. To give you a clear example, research conducted by National Geography in March 2019 found that the occurrence of the catastrophic disasters has doubled and death by natural causes quadrupled in the 2000s. On the contrary, the biggest drawback due to the persistence of the space voyage notwithstanding the hefty cost is depletion of cash reserves that could have been used for more pressing and imminent problems. As a result, hunger and starvation have remained a major contributor to death in the world, while the remaining amount is marginal to resolve issues like global warming. It is clearly illustrated by the fact that cost for India’s ambitious Mars mission was equivalent to the amount needed to eradicate poverty from 20 out of 28 states, as per Mysore University study published last week. In conclusion, the threat of diminishing natural resources aggravated by the frequent occurrence of floods and tides has made the earth nearly uninhabitable and thus, we need a new home; finding one is possible if we continue space exploration. However, many other urgent problems that need our attention might not be sufficiently tacked if money is spent on doing space research.