It is argued that mobile phones and electronic devices have no place in the classroom. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

People these days have become so attached to their smart phones and electronic devices that they carry them almost everywhere. There has been considerable debate several times that these gadgets shouldn't be allowed in the classrooms. This essay will discuss why it is necessary to limit the use of such gadgets in school. The first and foremost reason for not allowing students to carry mobile phones and electronic devices to their classes is theft. Students who cannot afford these valuables may think to acquire them through illegal means. As a result of peer pressure, my classmate stole an expensive cell phone from a friend. Secondly, another reason to put this restriction on students is the distraction these devices create in the classrooms. Most of the students become inattentive in the classroom when their cell phone beeps while this interruption fades away the essence of learning. Hence, they get low grades in exams. Moreover, the motivation to study also diminishes due to the usage of social media during lectures. However, proper and effective use of the internet via phones and laptops in class makes it interesting to study. Students can surf the internet to learn additional information on the topic they are studying with their teachers. Moreover, it elevates the motivation level too, as the tutorials become interactive. For instance, watching animations and taking help through explainer videos helps understand the topic better. In short, it depends on the user on how to utilize this technology. In my opinion, there are more reasons to restrict the use of mobiles and laptops in classes as it is a source of distraction and creates a sense of peer pressure. Hence, I strongly agree with the statement that mobile phones and electronic devices have no place in the classroom.