By punishing murders with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The right punishment for offenders responsible for murdering another human has been a topic of debate. It is often argued that life imprisonment is a better way of punishing murderers, to prevent society from being guilty of killing someone by giving capital punishment as the reward. Giving the death penalty to murderers is believed to be the best form of punishment by some people. This is because it serves as a way of deterring prospective criminals from killing. They argue that capital punishment is good enough to instill fear in people, and as a result prevents murder and every other type of crime altogether. Taking Germany as an example, the rate of murder cases declined after an act in their law stated that killing will be rewarded with a death sentence. However, I am of the notion that life in prison has a more positive effect on the state of a country. Life imprisonment offers fugitives a chance to ponder on their wrongdoings. They are given an opportunity to amend their ways, which in turn can influence the younger generations to always do the right thing and teach them life lessons such as the consequences of wrong acts. For instance, the states in the USA who changed their criminal laws from capital punishment to life imprisonment in the year 1980 experienced a 20% fall in the rate of murder cases the following year. Furthermore, vacation and basic skills, if taught to persons in prison, would benefit society and improve the economy of the nation at large. In conclusion, although rewarding murderers with a penalty of death seems deserving of the crime, life imprisonment is a decent way of punishing these offenders, thereby allowing them to change for the better and mastering new abilities that would be useful for them in the future and at the same time affect the community positively. I totally agree with the above-stated view.