Nowadays a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Some people think this can have negative effects on children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, there is a discussion regarding banning advertisements that are aimed at children due to arguments raised by some people about the negative effects caused by it. Despite the strong positive effects on the commercial or economic side, I agree that the large amount of advertising that is aimed at children should be banned because of the negative effects. It is well known that ads are one of the most effective go-to-market strategies for a company to sell its products and advertising to children directly is another great way to increase sales. While some companies could reach their target audiences directly, others have a challenge of difference between the user and the customer, where in this case the children do not have buying power. By showing the products directly to the children directly, many companies could trigger a chain of reactions where children would ask their parent or guardian to buy them the product. Furthermore, an independent study in Europe also proved this marketing technique is effective in increasing product penetration by up to 85% in addition to reducing operational costs by 50%. However, high exposure to the ads would affect the development of children badly. In the state where their brain cannot differentiate good from bad, this activity could impact the future of children's psychology by increasing the hunger for products that they don't really need. Additionally, this would also start the buying behaviour that would lead to a bad consumerism lifestyle in the long run if the parent could not control it as soon as possible. From the same independent study, the data showed that the combination of direct ads to the children and spoiling by parents, not only proved the stated arguments above, but also listed other negative effects such as exposure to sexual or adult contents, high level of envies to others, broken homes, and etc. In conclusion, while ads for children is a great strategy for companies to pump their sales number, this causes more harm for children and their families. Therefore, a new regulation for banning this sales technique is needed to save future generations.