Write about the following topic: The average standard of people's health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the last century there have been major developments in medicine, the number of people with knowledge about health and infirmity has increased and health facilities have been greatly improved. Advances in science mean major developments in health, such as innovative treatments for AIDS, new treatments for cancer, breakthroughs in vaccination and others. This could mean that there would be health improvements and that diseases rate worldwide would decrease. Even though there have been massive health developments, the amount of misinformation available to people has also increased, especially since anyone can post articles on the internet and everyone as access to them, and this affects the way people look at their well-being. For example, there are more and more people that are against vaccination and they base their decision on some doubtful articles stating that vaccines bring us more harm than good and that it is all a scheme to give money to the pharmaceuticals. The decrease in vaccination has led to recent outbreaks of diseases that were thought to be eradicated, such as measles. For example, there was a recent outbreak of measles in Portugal due to the increase of the anti-vaccination movement. Besides this, people aren’t eating healthy nowadays and there are more and more people with a sedentary lifestyle, which means that besides having a poor eating habit they don’t exercise often or at all. In addition, people work harder and harder and many of them do not feel fulfilled with their jobs, which can lead to burnout and/or depression. To conclude, I can say that I agree with the given statement because there are diseases coming back due to anti-vaccination movement, heart diseases, diabetes type 2 and other diseases are increasing because of our sedentary lifestyle, and stress related to work is increasing mental health problems. But we can fight this with reliable information available to everyone, healthy eating habits and exercise, and by decreasing our labour hours or working in the area we really like.