Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should take responsibility for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The human actions in the recent times have lead on causing devastating effects on the environment. It is argued by some people that the ministry should take the ownership of protecting the environment, whereas later believe, that it should be the responsibility of every individual. In my opinion, it should be a joint responsibility of the ministry and the citizens. To begin with, by using more of public transport, individuals can help in reducing the pollution levels. There has been a great amount of increase in the usage of automobiles by individuals. People use their own vehicles to commute to work which results in huge amounts of toxins which get released into the atmosphere by these vehicles, causing pollution. This is not only detrimental for the environment by also impacts the health of an individual. In a recent survey, the purchase of cars by people has increased by 8% as compared to the previous year. People should, therefore start using more public transportation, which would help in reducing the pollution levels in the city. However, without the intervention of the government, it is not possible to get the ideal results. The ministry needs to lay strict rules and regulations to reduce pollution. The major contribution of pollution comes from the factories, if the government sets a limit of emission of toxins from these factories. This could bring down the pollution levels to a large extend. The government can also work towards improving the public transportation system, which would encourage more individuals to use public transport. To conclude, only with the joint effort of the public and the government can help in protecting the environment. The citizens can use more of public transportation, which can reduce pollution levels and government can levy stricter rules and regulations which could support reduce the emission of toxins from factories.