Some people think restoration of old buildings take huge amount of government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to use this money for development of new buildings and roads. To what extent do you agree/disagree with the statement

It has been a debatable topic on whether the public sector should renovate the old buildings or should use the public funds for the development of new infrastructure and roads. I completely agree with the latter because it would help in the overall development of the nation. One the one side, there are some merits on spending public funds being spent on the restoration of old buildings. Firstly, these buildings could be of high importance. Some of the monuments depict the culture of the city, and are a million of years old.For this reason it would be important to restore these buildings. In addition, some of these buildings serve as a tourist destination. For these reasons the government funds would be needed to restore these buildings. One the other side, for a developing country, it is more crucial for the ministry to spend money on other public services as till would help in improving the growth of the economy. There have been a huge development in the area of science and technology. This means, that the ministry can adapt to new technologies to build new buildings, which would have better recreational facilities making it more beneficial for the public. Furthermore, the money spent on building the roads will help with people commuting more efficiently. To illustrate, my city has a huge amount of potholes, which makes road travel more inconvenient for individuals, by the government investing in the repair of the roads, could make the travel an ease for all public. These steps could help in improving the standard of living for its citizens. To conclude, the restoration of old buildings does have its merits as it depicts the culture and heritage of the country. However, the government should first prioritise and building better infrastructure and roads in the overall development of the country.