In some countries, it is illegal now to reject applicants due to their age. Do you think that it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that in several countries, now it is a legal offence to not accept applications merely due to the applicant's age. There are several reasons for this, and in my view, it is a positive development. Rejection of applications only due to the applicant's age should illegalised everywhere because it would be unfair to base admission on age. Universities, for example, should continue to select the best candidates for each course according to their qualifications. In this way, all regardless of age, would have the same opportunities, and applicants know that they would be successful if they achieve good grades at school. Furthermore, in company settings, it is observed that when workers are chosen based on their experience rather than their age, the profit margin of the company soars. This is because the worker's practical experience allows devising of realistic approaches towards achieving the company's goal. In my opinion, the act of some countries making it illegal to reject application due to their age is a positive development. To me, it is certainly wrong to reject one's experience or knowledge in favour of other's age. Notably, the current prime minister of Malaysia, is the oldest prime minister in the world. In contrast, Greta Thunberg, is among the youngest climate activists the world has seen. Yet both are hailed as one of the best, if not the best, in their respective fields. Thus, in other words, it is obvious that age surely is not a standard criteria to reject an application. In conclusion, illegalising rejecting applications based on age in some countries is certainly a positive development and should be applauded. Knowledge, experience or achievements should be utilised to choose a suitable candidate as age in not a standardised measure of one's knowledge.