Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The most common mode of transportation among people are railways and roadways, because it’s convenient for them to reach their destination. However, the public has a concern that government must expend money on the railways than on roadways. Indeed, I agree with this viewpoint because of various reasons. Firstly, the trains are a cheaper mode of commuters than roadways, and it is available to people at the right time. Moreover, the public does not face any congestion by travelling on trains that most of road users experience. Therefore, they will spend less time in travelling and reach their destination at a faster pace. Furthermore, it is one of the safest modes of travel than road transport. However, thousands of people are travelling by trains on a daily basis, like the super-fast express, faster trains, metros, local trains and trams to get to their places. On the other hand, by investing more on the enhancements of railways the traffic and pollution gets controlled and other environmental problems can be solved. Moreover, the roadway construction causes more damage to the society and public. For example, in my area the road extension is going to take place in a few months, due to this many shops, complexes and houses are being destroyed by the government which is a huge loss to people. Furthermore, the number of road accidents occurring has been increasing day by day due to various reasons. In order to avoid these, the cabinet should increase and improve railways, because when compared to railways casualties the highway casualties are higher. Although roads are connecting many remote areas, when heavy rains or wind occurs the roadways gets blocked and water gets stagnated, due to which people cannot travel to such places, so railways lines must be laid. To conclude, the government must always invest on safer, faster and cheaper modes of commuters, the railways and also introduce new trains, so that people can have an easy and convenient journey.