Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female study in every subject. Do you agree or disagree?

In my opinion, men and women should have the same opportunity in education. However, I completely disagree with the suggestion that universities should receive an equal proportion of genders in every major. In my essay, I will show the examples to prove this issue. Equal numbers of male and female in every field seem to be unrealistic. If universities want to have the same number of each gender, it depends on the number of applications they receive. If they don't have enough applicants, it is difficult to fill in the number of students of each gender in order to have same proportion. Moreover, there are many subjects that are more popular with one gender than the other. For example, nursing course tends to attract more girls and not many boys pursued it as their major. In contrast, it is hard to find some female students in the engineering field. In addition, universities should continue to select the best candidates for each course according to their qualifications. In this way, both men and women have the same opportunities, and applicants know that they will be successful if they work hard to achieve good grades at school. If a female student is the best candidate for a place on a course, it would be wrong to reject her in favour of a male student with lower grades or fewer qualifications. In conclusion, the selection of university students should be based on merit, and it would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure based on gender.