Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Is it a positive or negative development?

The idea that the world has now turned towards a global village, is a fact that cannot be disputed. This can be seen in the similarities that exists amongst nations. Consequently, people from different nationalities can now purchase the same products anywhere around the globe. Due to the fact that this trend will reduce the gap between the rich and poor country, and force the local manufacturers to produce high quality goods and cure the homesick migrants often feel. I therefore think that this is a positive development, and this essay will discuss that. To begin with, the benefits of this new development cannot be overemphasized. Firstly, the concept of rich-poor divide is greatly reduced. This is due to the fact that everyone uses the same type of products, regardless of the race. For example, mobile phones which are produced in Japan can be bought and used by people from all works of life. Moreover, different nationalities wear the same clothes, this has made it difficult to distinguish people based on what they wear. Undoubtedly, national disparity has been curtailed by this. In addition, migrants now feel more relaxed and comfortable in their host nation. Gone are the days when people find it daunting travelling abroad because they fear they might die of hunger. Nowadays people have their contemporary cuisines in their respective host countries. To cite an example, Mac Donald in the Philippines sells Chinese food and thus the Chinese enjoyed their stay in the Philippines. As can be seen they can comfortably relax anywhere they find themselves, without thinking of going to their respective countries. Furthermore, the local manufacturers are put under pressure to manufacture high quality products. As an increasing number of people prefer foreign goods to local goods, in order to meet up with the foreign goods, the countries' manufacturers try new and better ways to upgrade their products. To illustrate, Innoson, a renowned car dealer in Nigeria, recently produced the latest Ford. This was able to meet the standard of foreign cars, people normally buy. With these few points, this trend is without doubt highly beneficial. To conclude, countries have now become increasingly similar because same goods can be purchased anywhere. This has greatly reduced the gap between the rich and poor country and also made the local manufacturers to produce high quality goods. I therefore think that this is a positive development.