64. The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

Eating meals together with family is considered to be one of the important traditions in many cultures, where family members gather and enjoy conversation while eating homemade food. Nonetheless, it is said that this tradition is fading due to lifestyle changes, and the impacts of this phenomenon are possibly detrimental to individuals. This essay will discuss the causes and consequences of the loss of traditional family mealtime. One of the reasons why people do not eat meals together with family relates to modern busy lifestyles. Not only do many parents work long hours, but also children participate in after-school activities almost every day, which makes it difficult for each family member to get together at the same time for meals. Rather, it is easier to have meals at their own time. For example, a schoolchild who goes to a cram school may finish lessons after 10pm and come back home afterwards. It is too late for her family to wait till she comes back and have dinner together as her parents probably have to start early in the following morning to work. Thus, individuals have been leading busy lifestyles recently, and there is not enough time to enjoy meals together. The Impacts of this changing tradition are considerably negative to individuals for two reasons. Firstly, the family relationship may be hindered as family members have less time to communicate and share their stories with others. If a family can have meals together, it also serves the time to share the same experience and have a conversation, which will deepen the family bond. Secondly, eating alone is simply boring and people tend to eat unhealthy food when not sharing food with others. This is because it is much easier and cheaper for people to consume takeaway food that is high in sugar, sodium, and saturated fat when eating alone. This habit would negatively affect one’s health in a long term perspective. In conclusion, the changes in individuals' lifestyles contribute to the loss of traditional family meals in recent years, and the impacts of this phenomenon are detrimental as it hinders family relationships and one's health.