Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some see an old architectural style as an eyesore, others see it as an embodiment of the era in which it was built. The two juxtaposing views make it difficult for city planners to decide whether or not the building styles should be unified. While many could argue for finding new architectural design as an iconic, there were reasons to allow the building to have a graceful outward same as other buildings in local areas. On the one hand, many businesses prefer using classic style buildings. It gives their business a sense of character and strives away from seeming like a major chain store that traditionally has multiple buildings designed in the same fashion. They enjoy the emotional connection to the building since not only it has been a part of their community for a long duration of time, but also it acts as a reminder of a city’s culture, complexity, and growth. On the other hand, it can be tempting to consider making new architectural styles, but one must consider the intrinsic value of the building. For instance, many building designs tend to be built with glass and steel materials. The buildings are built to different standards, since those materials are able to withstand more than past construction materials. Nevertheless, trends may come and go, but the principles of architectural design are forever. That’s why, regardless of what the style preferences may be, it’s important to learn about these principles, especially about harmony and unity. These principles are used by professional architectural designers to create a sense of cohesion in the space and to take their work to the next level. In conclusion, despite some community members might like the idea of ​​having modern architectural buildings, retaining traditional building styles is also a way to go. Hence the principles of architectural designs can play an important role in city planning for decades to come.