Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed by many that first-time law offenders and people involved in small crimes should work for society without any monitory gains rather than being incarcerated. I completely agree with this statement because it will give such people a chance to realize their mistake while living a respectable life and society will also get benefitted as there will be more workforce available without any cost. First of all, doing community work for free gives a chance to a person to correct his/her mistake. Many feel regretful after doing such small criminal activities, which they did not intend to do in the first place. Working for society will give such people a perfect chance to confess and rectify their mistakes. Secondly, in many societies, going to jail is considered wrong and disrespectful, so it gives a chance to the person to continue living a respectable life. Lastly, rehabilitation is more accessible when an individual is not in jail because it becomes easier for social activists to approach them and make them do activities which will divert their mind from crime and help them in becoming a noble and responsible citizen. In addition, it will be a great benefit to society as well, because there will be more workforce available without any cost. These criminals can serve in hospitals by taking care of the patients or in a nursing home by taking care of older people. Moreover, there will be less requirement of jails and staff to look after them. As a result, government expenditure will be reduced significantly. On the contrary, putting first time criminal in jail may have adverse effects on them as they will be staying with other criminals, who are repeated offenders and have a criminal mindset. Staying with such people might influence new criminals or they me be forced to join hands with professional criminals. Moreover, being behind bars disconnects a person from family and society, which may weaken them emotionally, and the person may not remain the same what he was in the past. In conclusion, everyone deserves a chance to correct his/her mistakes. Criminals too should be given a chance to realize and rectify their misdeeds by not incarcerating. However, it should depend upon the severity of the crime and criminal history of the individual.