Nowadays, many students live with their families while others go to another city to study at a university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Today, large numbers of young adults choose to study at their local university while others prefer to go to another city. Although studying locally has some benefits, there are also some drawbacks that are worth considering. I, myself, had chosen the path to study abroad and enjoy the positive side of it. There are two main benefits of studying locally. First of all, the student main focus will be learning their best without worrying about the daily necessity. As they will be living under the same roof with their family, most certainly the household chore, such as laundry and cooking will be taken care of. Another positive side, they do not need to get to know the new environment, because they have known the neighbourhood since they were a kid. On the flip side, various negative points may be noted. The undergraduate who hit the road and migrate to another city for university are forced to be more independent in comparison with their local peer. They will have to learn to stand on their own two feet. Moreover, being in their comfort zone will not help them to experience life’s harsh reality. As a result, they might have difficulties later on because of having their head in the clouds. In conclusion, there are some advantages going to university locally. For instance, being surrounded by strong support system of families and close friends. However, living in the comfort of the parent’s nest might not be all roses as they are being too dependent. For this reason, they will face more problem in the future.