Many people say that we have developed into a 'throw away' culture, because we are filling up our environment with so many plastic bags and rubbish that we cannot fully dispose of. To what extent do you agree with this opinion and what measures can you recommend.

Is this the planet or a dustbin? It is observed over a period of time that we have developed into 'dispose of' culture as the activities of the mankind have filled the environment with polythene bags and other garbage which cannot be fully disposed off and I strongly agree with this opinion. My points of the argument and the measures to prevent this nuisance are discussed further. This 'throw away' attitude of people has caused an increase in trash everywhere on earth and accumulation of this garbage have serious adverse effects on the environment. For instance, throwing off a plastic bag on the beach area or in the river, when they go deep in water, it is misinterpreted by fishes that it may be jellyfish and when they engulf this polythene bag they get choked and die. The similar situation is also observed in terrestrial animals as well, where animals like cow and buffalo eats polythene bag along with the food which cause its accumulation in their stomach. So it can be clearly seen that improper disposal of waste cause serious harm on various living creatures. In addition to this, lack of proper disposal has caused an increase in the size of 'Pirana' (the garbage dumping site in Ahmedabad) which may cause a widespread of various diseases including dengue, malaria and many others. The measures that should be taken in order to observe a significant reduction in such nuisance includes the system for separation of biodegradable and non biodegradable waste and then by separately collecting them and disposing them off. The non biodegradable material usage should be decreased or banned and also instead of throwing them off they should be reused and recycled. To sum up, this 'throw-away' culture has seriously turned environment in a 'trash can' that has a serious adverse effect on all life forms so it is necessary to establish a proper disposal system mainly by dividing waste in terms of biodegradable and non-biodegradable rubbish.