Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, automation technology has made a significant impact in the labour market. Since these technological advancements have reduced the requirement of manual labour, some people say that working hours should also be reduced. This essay will discuss why a reduction in working hours is essential and will also provide supporting evidence. First and foremost, trimming down labour hours will play a crucial role in diminishing the stress of the employees which will have a direct impact on the production efficiency. If the employees are asked to work for nine hours a day, it is obvious that they might feel more stressful and monotonous paving the way for inefficient labour. For instance, a cashier may feel tired while counting cash and coins manually for 8 hours a day, but with cash counting machine in place the same work can be done within a few minutes and it also helps reducing the stress of the cashier. Therefore, companies and industries which have these modern day technological advancements should seriously consider reducing the labour hours as it provides a stress free work environment. Furthermore, shorter working hours will also provide work-life balance of the employees where they will able to spend time with the family and they can also develop a new skill. For example, a recent survey shows more than 80% of the employees do not have a proper work-life balance. While having the automation technologies in place, workers do not have to stay in office for the whole day. This will help the companies in gaining employee satisfaction and they will stick with the company for a longer time. In conclusion, since advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour, companies and industries should introduce shorter working duration to the employees as it will help in reducing their stress and they can also have a proper work-life balance.