Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There is no doubt that University learning plays a vital role in building a student's essential knowledge for his or her future prospects. Although some people believe that only the subjects which are required for a brighter future of students should be taught to them. I would rather insist that candidate's interest should be taken into account. On one hand, there are some who believe that only future oriented approach to learning shouldbe considered for a prosperous future as it will be helpful in grabbing better paying jobs. Forexample, those who studied only computer programming subjects during their tenure, eventually end up with a career in Technical Profession irrespective of their core interests. However, If they had studied these subjects along with their main subjects of interest, it might provide a better alternative to them in career. On the other hand, there are others who choose their passion as their profession. The reason they do this is that by following their heart, they will be more productive which ultimately leads totheir efficiency at workplace. To illustrate, a study conducted by Mind Forum agency states thatpeople who are in the job profile which they are passionate about are 40% more efficient thantheir peers who were not able to follow their passion. As a consequence, the people who aredoing job just for their livelihood and not being passionate about it, will eventually become mechanical and those beings will eventually not be able to contribute to the society, the way they should be.... In conclusion, considering the future prospects of learning, it is my firm belief that one should grab knowledge as much as they can in the areas they are interested in during their tertiary education itself. It is a vital step in a goal to become a better human being which can ultimately lead to building a better society.