Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individual and societies. To what extent do you agree?

Social networking sites, for instance Facebook, are thought by some to have had a detrimental impact on individual people as well as society and local communities. However, while I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial to the individual, I agree that they are hampering and damaging the local groups. With regards to individuals, the impact that these online sties have had on each person has clear advantages. For example, firstly, people from many different countries with vast variety culture are brought together, whereas before the inception of these social networking sites, people rarely had a chance to meet or communicate with people outside of their immediate circle or community. Secondly, Facebook also has social groups which offer the users a chance to meet or participate in discussion with people who share same common interests. On the other hand, the effect of these sites on societies and local communities can only be seen as damaging and negative. For instance, rather than individual people taking part in their local communities, they are instead choosing to take more interest in people online. They have their own virtual world. Consequently, the people within localities are no longer forming close or supportive relationships. Furthermore, society as a whole is becoming increasingly disjoint and fragmented as people spend more time online with people they have never met face to face and who they are unlikely to ever meet in the future. To conclude, although social networking sites have brought individuals closer together, they have not same effect on local communities. Rather, it is having a negative impact. Local communities should do more to try and involve local people in local activities in order to promote the future of community life.