Some say the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be useful to society. Others say the purpose of education is to help people achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Education is a vital part in a person's life. While some some people say that the main intention of the schooling should be building a perfect citizen, others think that it should intended to fulfil the dreams of every individual. This essay agrees with the fact that the schooling should be more society oriented as it helps to transform a country to a developed one rather that developing individual lifestyle. If the main purpose of education is to develop a perfect civilian the society will become more civilized as well as developed. This is because, every person is learning the things which are helpful the society. By doing this they are aware of the rules and regulations of the country and they are more likely to follow those procedures. For instance, in Japan, all citizens obey the rules properly because their primary aim of the study is to mould a child to a better person. From the childhood itself, they have been taught the things like, how to behave in public, how to obey rules etc. Therefore, the primary aim of the schooling should be society oriented. On the other hand, some people argue that the schooling should be helpful for the individual to build their lives. Although this type of study teaches a person to earn more money, it is not at all useful to the society. To go into detail, many developing countries have skilled individuals those who have graduated from the university. However, these people are not willing to obey the rules properly just because they are unaware of those rules. For example, as per the latest survey of the Indian Express newspaper, 80 percent of skilled employees in India are not paying their Income tax properly. This is due to their lack of knowledge about the importance of rules. Therefore, the study based on self benefit, if not good for the society. In conclusion, Education which is aimed to mould a better citizen will helps to make a country to a developed one as it help to build a civilized society. While, on the other side, the teaching based on individual purpose will only make their lifestyle better. If we are teaching the students about the importance of being a good citizen and about the rules, the society is more likely to become a developed one.