In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Consumers are favouring the big malls compared to local shops since last decade. In my opinion, there must be a balance between the big shopping centres and small-scale shops. First paragraph demonstrates the pros and cons of small shopping centres and the second paragraph explains about the advantages and disadvantages of large malls. Let us discuss more about this in detail in the following paragraphs. Firstly, little shops have been existing for a long time back and they supply the essential needs of the poor people in general. For instance, the person in a remote village has access to the local shops than big shopping-centres and their daily needs are addressed by the small shops. Furthermore, the price of commodities is cheaper in the minor shops. Apart from this, so many people start their entrepreneurial journey as local businessmen because it is a tiny business. The downside is income generating from the minor shops is not suffice for the survival of the shop owner. On the flip side, big malls are generating more revenue and recruiting young people into jobs, thereby lower the unemployment problem in the local area. In addition to this, the remuneration of the salesmen in these jobs is meagre. Furthermore, big shopping-centres have kept the price in view of rich people in the society. For example, if we take the movie ticket in PVR Mall, Hyderabad, it would cost 500 bucks compared to a local movie theatre. By considering all these factors, one can say that there should be a parity between the large malls and small shops. To summarize, we will encourage the enormous shopping-centres as well as the small shops in a view that both will be beneficial to the society. Also, certain measures should be taken to lessen the prices in the big malls so that they would be available to the common public as well.