In some countries, governments are encouraging businesses and industries to move to regional areas outside big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, governments of certain countries started promoting the organizations to move to regional areas far from the big cities. This essay will argue that the advantages of this action outweigh the disadvantages. The essay will first demonstrate that less population density and more job opportunities are the major advantages followed by an analysis of how primary disadvantages, namely, difficulties in finding employees and transportation, are not valid. To begin with, high population density is the primary reason for the traffic problems, unaffordable housing prices and finding jobs in the big cities. By encouraging corporations to run their businesses from regional areas, many people will start moving to those areas which will help reduce traffic jams and housing costs. Furthermore, newly opened offices in the regional areas will provide more job opportunities for people living there which in turn will improve their standard of life. Those opposed to it say that in the outskirts, it is very difficult to find employees who are perfectly suited for job requirements. Moreover, they also argue that regional areas don’t have sufficient options for transportation and as a result very small number of people are actually willing to move there for jobs. However, these problems can easily be solved by providing valuable perks to workers who will relocate there. Additionally, the Government can also spend additional resources to improve the transportation for the development of these areas. For instance, in India, to develop the outskirt areas near Ahmedabad, a city located in Gujarat, the local government has increased its transportation budget by 20 per cent. In conclusion, the major advantages of promoting businesses in the outskirts like more job opportunities, fewer traffic problems, affordable housing in big cities and improvement in the quality-of-life of people living in these locations far outweigh the problems in finding well-suited employees for the job and lack of transportation.