Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Due to numerous reasons people around the world are moving to renewable energy sources, especially solar energy. There are certain benefits as well as drawbacks when it comes to this particular source of energy, which will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, people nowadays are more concerned regarding the protection of the environment. Global warming and temperature rises are the main challenges faced by countries today in the aspect of the environment, which, in fact generated by fossil fuels. Hence, in order to contribute to the effort of saving mother nature, more and more individuals are converting their houses to solar powered homes. Undoubtedly, this would help to reduce the pollution of the nature which is a great outcome. Moreover, the solar energy is free it there for anyone to take if they need it. As a result; individuals believe it as a major investment which they can get profit in the future. On the other hand, although this energy source is free, in order to harvest this a person need quite a number of equipment which are not cheap. Therefore, the initial investment of this power source is quite high. In addition, for the countries with little sunlight per day this method of energy is not suitable, because, the energy storage methods today is not up to the standard of storing solar captured energy. Another one problem is the maintenance of the equipment, which sometimes can be a burden. In conclusion, solar powered houses are a great way to turn away from conventional energy sources that destroy the nature and due to the fact it is freely available makes it more attractive. However, equipment cost and repairs are the major disadvantages of this renewable energy source.