Some people think that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food, clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The most common arguments among people is regarding the decisions that the children make, where some have an opinion that if children take their own decisions that is likely to result in, selfish thinking. Whereas, others have a viewpoint that in some matter youngsters should decide because it is related to the issues that affect them. This essay discusses both the opinions. Firstly, parents have feared that if children start to pick-up choices for themselves from a young age, then they commit more mistakes and if these are pinpointed by the elders, they will get offended. Indeed, this is factual, because youngsters at that age want to do the things as they wish, and if they are given the authority of decision making in their lives then it would be a disaster, like they think only about their wishes without even considering the others feelings. For example, if a child insists on choosing his own clothing, and when the parents encourage him, then the child will not know the worth of the clothes they are picking, like the cost. However, if they continue to do, so then they may become more selfish thinking about themselves rather than their parent’s affordability. Secondly, it is good that a child must be independent in choosing their lifestyle, because they will know which option is better in their lives. Moreover, making the right choice must be taught from a young age, because only at that point they will try to be more responsible and careful in deciding for their lives. For instance, my parents taught me what and how important is decision making for a person, and because of their valuable advice I choose a good career and now I am happy in my life. To conclude, in my opinion, although it is nice if children decide for their lives, but it is the responsibility of the parents to teach them the importance of it besides to respect others feelings, otherwise they would grow into selfish people.