Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

An increasing concern of people in modern times is the role of different subjects at school. It is often said that History is of paramount importance; however, others feel that subjects such as Science and Technology are crucial. This essay will examine both sides of the issue and provide an overall opinion. There are a variety of reasons why people believe that studying historical events is important. Perhaps the main reason in favour of studying History is that it fosters traditional moral values among young people. This is because students can be inspired by older generation’s patriotism and valour by learning about the battles. A further point in favour of learning History is that it helps people avoid making the same mistakes happened in the past thanks to previous experience of their precursors. For instance, the results of policies in the past enable governments to impose appropriate schemes to increase economic growth. Despite these arguments, there is a case for the idea that other subjects related to Science and Technology are beneficial. The primary reason for this is that these subjects can provide students with foundation knowledge which help them to adapt to the technological development. For example, if students study Engineering at school, they may understand how electronic gadgets work. Secondly, in some countries, the majority of workforce work in science - related fields. As a result, students tend to focus on these subjects to seek well – paid jobs in the future. In conclusion, this is a topic which is very relevant to modern society. Having considered both sides of the issue, I would argue that subjects like Science and Technology are integral to modern life. If the government introduces appropriate curriculum, students can apply the lessons to make innovations in these fields; therefore, the quality of people’s lives will increase