Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the issues of traffic congestion and pollution have been discussed widely by citizens from all over the world as people suffer from these critical problems. It is suggested that raising the price of petrol is an effective solution to these tricky problems. In this essay, I will showcase my attitude towards this solution and introduce an applicable measure regarding to these issues. From my perspective, charging petrol with a higher price is a doable way to solve the problem, because in terms of financial theories, if the price of something is increased, the consumers tend to look for other substitutes. Therefore, in this case, if the price of petrol is higher, a part of the drivers might turn to public transportation and some drivers might consider about other types of fuel such as electricity, which is a more eco-friendly and sustainable energy. If more citizens opt for public transportation and more cars are powered by electricity, the issues of traffic and pollution will be relieved. In addition to pricing the petrol higher, other measures can be adopted. For example, the traffic bureau can ameliorate the condition of public transportation. Currently, there are a large number of people who are unwilling to take public transportation because passengers need to wait at the bus stop for too long or the condition on the bus is terrible with no air-conditioning or unclean seats. Therefore, our government can arrange more buses, especially during the rush hours and air-conditioner system can be installed on the bus. In conclusion, there are a variety of solutions to lessen the problems related to traffic jams and pollution. Charging the petrol with higher price and improving the public transportation are two possible ones. Both government and citizens should join effort to solve these problems. Only in the way can the environment become more sustainable and develop in a positive way.