Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Othour er believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Global sports events such as the Olympics and the World Cup are incredible opportunities for countries. These iconic ceremonies can provide an economic avalanche of benefits to the host country. Although some may some may argue that expending money on such matter is futile. I strongly believe that hosting these sports events is a boon for the state. First of all, it is very natural that the country receives an enormous amount of publicity and world media's attention. It gives a golden chance for the state to promote their culture and soft power across the globe. Furthermore, every nation feels honoured and prestige of presenting these mega sporting meets because that country will be the centre of the sporting world for the duration of the action. Secondly, these occasions play a paramount role to boost host nation's economic condition because a development like the World Cup and the Olympics require a huge infrastructure and facilities. Hence local government pumps vast amount of money in upgrading existing structures and build new stadiums, airports and roads. Consequently, all these activities generate numerous job opportunities for local people. For example, as per the a report of the Russian government, the Football World Cup 2018 helped to create 50000 jobs in Russia and increased Russian economy by 10%. However, it should not be forgotten that enormous financial and human resources are required to organize a world class event. If anything goes wrong, it will be ignominiously for whole hosting society. Many small and developing nations do not have such luxury of enough resources and if these countries try to put together the mega event by using borrowed money, they will be in debt trap. Hence it is very important that countries should analyse their economic condition and take decision. In conclusion, it is indisputable that hosting an international sports event is a great achievement and it bring many advantages for the host nation. Although it can be a big problem for small and under developing countries.