When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With an increasing rate of population worldwide, the development of new towns and cities with the various facilities is being considered by the government to accommodate a large number of people. While some people believe building the shopping centre would yield more ultimate benefit for the new urban areas, I would claim that public parks or gym will deliver more practical gains to the general public. Admittedly, it is acknowledged by many people that shopping places may facilitate the growth of the local economy as a large number of people make the purchases; thus, creating an active momentum of the cash flow within the local community. However, a similar degree of momentum can be created by small shops in the urban area; therefore, the benefit of the shopping centre will become marginal in the ultimate perspective. Alternatively, the community is able to improve people's health by building sports facilities and create a good looking place by constructing well-maintained public parks. This yields a substantial gain for the general public, as people can become more healthy with an improved impression of the town. Additionally, building parks with natural trees and plants will assist to reduce the general degree of air pollution, and the importance of such facility is especially pronounced if the city is to become one of the biggest metropolitan areas. For example, an increased population in the city leads to an increased amount of the exhausted gas, such as carbon dioxide; the local community has to develop a method to alleviate the air pollution levels. Furthermore, if the city construction groups or the government does not build a public park, a number of problems regarding with air quality will be inevitable, and the local people in the town will face the increased problems with their respiratory systems. To conclude, although some benefits can be observed by building the shopping malls in the town, substantial gains by building public parks and sports facilities outweigh the benefits provided by the shopping malls.