Some parents bring their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Children are fond of toys. As a result, parents these days spend hefty amount of money for bringing toys for their children. There are various advantages of buying toys for children. However, there are disadvantages as well, which cannot be overlooked. This essay will discuss both the sides. On the brighter side, toys are considered to be the best way of enhancing the skills of the adolescents. In this technological era, the toys become so smart that they can help the children to develop strong analytical and logical skills. For instance, toys like block building, puzzle solving and a lot more help strengthening the mental thinking of the children. In addition to this, nowadays there are many families which have only one child, a baby can make relationships with the toys like his sibling and friends to feel less lonely. Thus, it is advantageous for the children to have a plethora of toys. On the darker side, having number of toys will make children unhealthy. More toys will consume more time of the children. Thus, they will lack in the physical activity which results in causing noxious diseases like obesity. For example, a study by child health care department of Oxford university has proved that children spending a lot of time on video games and playing with toys become overweight and prone to many diseases. Furthermore, the large number of toys can make the young ones addicted to them, which results in limiting their social interaction with society and with their peers. In fact, they become self-centred and selfish. Due to all these reasons, a wide variety of toys will be a threat to the child holistic development. In conclusion, I assert that although there are numerous benefits of having a wide range of toys for the children, their excessive use can be detrimental.