In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The growing population in most major cities has made transportation an important topic. While some people believe a huge sum of money should be used in constructing new railway lines for very fast trains, others believe in the improvement of already existing means of public transportation. This essay will discuss both arguments in detail and give a concluding opinion. On the one hand, those who support the improvement of existing public transport argue that it is a cheaper alternative. They claim it is more financially prudent to get more buses and fix damaged roads (for instance) and divert the remaining funds to other sectors of the economy. In addition, they claim that the poor maintenance culture in most countries would seem to affect the new railway lines after some years. However, those who support the construction of new railway lines cite it as a possible means of depopulating major cities. They argue that if there are fast trains connecting cities, people would be able to live in one city and work in the other. This can be exemplified in countries like China where there are fast trains connecting cities and thus have been able to combat overcrowding of major cities. Also, it would appear that constructing new railway lines would reduce the pressure on already existing public transport, thereby making it more efficient. Furthermore, new railway lines might increase the ease of business transactions as goods can be transported with ease from one city to another, thus leading to an increase in the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of the country. To conclude, i refers to the speaker or writer I would tend to side with the proponents of building new rail lines. Although it seems to be the more expensive option, it would appear to be more logical and financially rewarding in the long run. However, proper maintenance strategies should be put in place for optimal benefits.