There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family

It is true that nowadays, people across countries prefer to have a nuclear family instead of joint family. The advantage of a small family is they have the freedom to choose their lifestyle and habit without depending on others. On the other hand, a joint family gives more support in various ways. This essay will discuss about both the arguments. One of the major benefits of being a nuclear family is that, they have the flexibility to choose their way of life. They really don' t have to ask or depend on anyone else for preferences. Either it can be simple item purchase or booking a car. They can run on their own way. For example, buying a car for a small family is more simple. Considering the budget and the model will be more enough. On the other hand, if it is a large family, then they need to mind about the seat capacity of the car, which in turn impact the budget factor as well and makes the choice complex. As a result, either they may end up in buying a car out of their interest or may not buy a car. On the flip side, a joint family gives more moral support which a small family can' t get at any cost. A joint family, also, enhances the relationship and family bonding. It is common that most of the kids in a small family, especially in metro cities, don' t even know their close relatives. For an instance, a kid in a joint family enjoys his/her vacation and festivals to the core and gain happy memories, which a kid in a nuclear family may not get. Those kids are grown without knowing the importance of relationship and family bondings. As a consequence, they can' t share their feelings, even to their spouse. In conclusion, it is good to be in a small family as it will give the feel of freedom in every moment of life. However, a large family gives more moral support and cherishing memories.