Some people think that the responsibility should be on the government for the rise of obesity in children, others think that the parents should be in control instead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Peoples opinions differ as to whether the onus lies with the government or with the parents for the increase in very fat children. A few people believe that the government ought to be held liable for the rising number of overweight children, In contrast, some believe that the parents should be held accountable because children spend more time with them and because they provide more of what they consume. In my strong conviction, it depends on the child because they are in full control of what they eat and are not concerned about the aftermath. Admittedly, some consider that it is the responsibility of the administration to handle the hike for several reasons. Firstly, they possess the authority required to impose tax on these foods known to be the leading cause of bulk-weight such as canned foods otherwise known as ready to eat foods. A survey that was conducted by the NAFDAC in 2017 revealed that about 50% of people living in urban areas had these meals as their staple food owing to the fact that a lot of people live busy lives and have little or no time to themselves to prepare healthy less-fattening meals. In addition, these foods are less expensive, thus they are highly purchased. However, an imposition of taxation will increase the cost on them and as such discourage their purchase. On the other hand, parents should be made to account for their children's health because they provide most of what they consume. A child usually is not financially buoyant to buy whatever they want and in most cases their parents do. Moreover, parents that possess the habit of consuming these foods will hardly avoid their children from having them because children learn faster from what they see. According to an article in the 2013 edition, the author highlighted that most of the habits portrayed by children were also those of their parents. Furthermore, children tend to spend more of their time with their parents and so, if what they feast on cannot be regulated, then the chances of the offspring being healthy is slim which will apparently lead to weight problems. To conclude, despite varying opinions, I believe that the child has a bigger role to play in the control of their weight owing to the fact that they determine what they want to ingest with little or no interest on their dangers. However, I would recommend proper awareness programs to be made to enable them the opportunity to know about their health.