Many children are forced to stay at school and study subjects that will be of little value to them in the future. These children may disrupt the education of the majority and should be allowed to leave school early to find themselves a job.

Should schools allow some students to leave early has been a heated debate all over the world. Some argue that students with little interest in the subjects they are learning can choose to leave school for work. However, in my opinion, these potentially disengaged students should not be allowed to leave school early as this will result in a detrimental effect on their life, and there are better solutions to this problem. Encouraging students to leave school early will inevitably lead to negative impact on both their personal and later work life. First of all, it will be almost impossible for students to make friends at their age and they are more likely to feel isolated emotionally and socially as a result of leaving school early. Secondly, dropping off school means students will not be able to receive the proper certificate of successfully completing the compulsory studies, making it extremely hard for them to land a position in a competitive workforce. In addition, students are not allowed to leave school until they reach a certain age, for example, in Australia, the legal leaving school age is 17. Thereby, it is not acceptable to allow students to leave school without finishing the required studies and reaching the legal age. Even though students who find learning certain subjects less interesting may disrupt the class, this does not justify allowing them to leave school for work. Teachers can better engage students by making the subject learning more relevant to student life. For example, when teaching math concepts, teachers can incorporate more real- life activities include calculating car payment or creating a budget. In this way, students are able to see how the subject connects with their life and consequently pay more attention to it. Alternatively, schools can provide more options for students to finish their Year 12. In addition to regular studies in the classroom, there should be more hands-on learning for students to gain practical skills and work experience. Therefore, students should not be allowed to leave school early without finishing the compulsory schoolwork. In conclusion, it is not reasonable to allow students to leave school early if they are temporarily disengaged in class as this will be harmful to their later life personally and professionally.