Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a gap year, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others, this is an expensive waste of time. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Some youngsters consider a gap year the key to enhancing their career prospects, others think it is a worthless pursuit. I believe that pursuing a gap-year can provide worthwhile experiences to juveniles, laying the seeds of a prosperous professional career. Although a gap-year is an exciting opportunity to undertake a self-development project, it is risky at the same time. On the one hand, youngsters can gain relevant work experiences, key skills; broadening their view of the world. Working during the defer years can increase invaluable knowledge. Furthermore, experiencing other countries can help gain an appreciation and awareness of global issues, putting people in the lead. Such knowledge is paramount to secure a dream job. On the other hand, it can cost an awful amount of money to organise and realise. To add to the ordeal, one can get bankrupt. One in ten people face financial ordeals from budget mismanagement according to gap-year tour operators, however, that number is negligible. Finally, in my opinion, hefty expenses should be the least cause for deterring a gap-year. The return on investment is high, bringing positive drastic changes to the personality of the youngster. Travelling to other countries solidifies young adults with soft, and hard skills; moulding character and individuality. Facing and circumventing adversity in an unfamiliar country sets a solid foundation for solving problems in life. Such experience is worth the expense. In conclusion, there is definitely an edge some young person can attain contrasting to those who consider gap-years an expensive waste of time. However, improper planning can adversely affect personal finances; accurate gap-year budget plans eliminates the risk of debt and bankruptcy.