some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A certain number of individuals feel that the only way the government can successfully tackle the rate of famine and poverty is by improving the growth of the economy, on the other hand others believe this growth is having a detrimental effect in the society and as a result should be shut down. In my opinion, despite the harmful effects of economic growth, I believe that growing the economy by building infrastructures will create jobs which will end the problems. To begin with, one of the main causes of why people are poor and cannot afford daily meals is because they are unemployed. If the government should focus more energy and money into the development of infrastructures such as the building of hospitals, airports, train stations and sanitary systems, these will create thousands of jobs for people, thus ending the hungry strike and poverty among their citizens. For instance, Togo that was previously one of the poorest countries in the world, with 30% of its population living in poverty, is now the second blooming economy in Africa after their new president invested the 1 trillion dollars they borrowed from the World Bank into infrastructure. However, other people feel that the ill effects of economic growth should not be over looked particularly in regards to pollution and overpopulation that might result from this growth. They are of the opinion that people will tend to move to areas where infrastructures are being built which will lead to more diseases from being overpopulated. Additionally, they are concerned that the crime rate will also go on in areas like train stations and airport at night because of the lack of sophisticated police force. In my opinion, I disagree with this notion as there have been examples of countries that have undergone rapid development without problems such as air pollution, overpopulation and increase in criminal activity. To conclude, quite a decent number of people believe the key to eradicating poverty is for the government to develop the economy, while others are more worried about the drawbacks associated with economic growth and should therefore be stopped. In my candid opinion, I agree with the notion that an improvement in the economy is the most effective way to end poverty, moreover a better planning prior to the development of the economy will negate any possible drawback.