Many young people regularly change their jobs over the years. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether periodic shifting jobs from one company to another is beneficial or not. This essay will discuss both views and assert that the accompanying disadvantages are more obvious than the advantages. To begin with, there are a number of advantages of acquiring a new job. The central reasons behind this is twofold, firstly people tend to obtain a new job with higher salary. In fact, by studying the job description in local labour market, we can witness that the same job title can get paid in a wide range of salary in various companies, giving rise to the desire and need for workers to approach a new employer. Moreover, this also increase the likelihood of getting promoted because of the experience they gained in previous companies. Secondly, compared to those who work for the same company for decades, workers can broaden their personal horizon by encountering new challenges from new environment, resulting in the enrichment of their personal growth. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that changing jobs regularly can benefit oneself. Although there is a case for finding a new job fostering the personal development, the ensuing disadvantages cannot be neglected. The most significant drawback is the potential loss of non-salary benefits such as pension and health insurance. For instance, in comparison to experienced staff, a new staff who was hired for a few months, in spite of his higher position, might not cumulate sufficient achievement and trust among teammates in a short period. Meanwhile, by working for a company for decades, a teammate who stayed long in a company often demonstrated loyalty to his employer, resulting in better benefits. This might encourage the company to offer better benefits to its long-term partners rather than the new headcount. Furthermore, fresh employees necessitate dedicated resource to retrain themselves in order to adopt into the new environment, and this additional investment offered by the company may also deter their manager from promoting new staff in coming years. In conclusion, there are both benefits and costs regarding the case of frequent change of jobs, yet, given the increasing concern about job stability, the downside outweighs its upside. It is predicted that the phenomenon of changing jobs will decline in the foreseeable future.