Scientists believe that finding other life forms in space by sending messages is a good idea, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent decades, many countries have been investigating contact with worlds beyond earth. One method in contacting aliens is transmitting radio signals, but there are some people who have serious doubts about it. Therefore, in this essay, I will present these two viewpoints and the extent to which I agree or disagree and finally offer my overall view. From the perspective of supporters, by sending information into space to find other forms of intelligent life, eventually, someday we may receive a reply. That means making transmissions which will help us to find out about their existence, and also by making contact would advance humankind because obviously it would prove we were not alone and they may have something to share with us. However, people who oppose this method also hold their opinions for valid reasons. Their reasoning is because we may expose ourselves to outside dangers when we try to send information to let them know we are here. Their fear is they may not be benevolent, but hostile. Importantly, there is the greater impact that if contact was established with a vastly advanced civilisation, then the cultural impact would be devastating, a clear example is the arrival of the Spanish of the less advanced people of South America during the fifteenth century. In conclusion, I still believe attempting to communicate with the worlds beyond earth, is beneficial to our society and development. Even though I also have some anxiety about the consequences which it might bring. Nonetheless, weighing up both these standpoints, my opinion is that on the whole we could extend our knowledge about the universe by doing so, and what is more, accelerate our own technological advancement.