Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports flourishes when combined with competition, unfortunately competition has its own share of pros and cons. Although, there are many successful international sporting events, but there are various problems we have to address with it. In my opinion, I feel the benefits outweighs the problems. Since colonial times, sports have been the one, that treats oppressors and opressee burdened psychologically or mentally oppressed equally on the field. International sports boost empathy, generates respect and helps us to connect with people from various parts of the world. Concurrently, it also helps to boost tourism in the hosting country, symbolises amity and broadens our parochial views about various countries. For instance, the commonwealth games are played by all the countries who were once ruled, boosting the confidence of the once oppressed. Similarly, Olympic games provide a benchmark for a sport person, by respecting him at international level. But as every coin has to being one more than one two sides, international sports also has its own dark side. Evidently, people have tried to cheat the international sports just for the prize by doping and drugging, eventually, tainting their name. Also with increased tourism during the international sporting events many unwanted factors such as prostitution, littering, government property damages have been witnessed. International sports have also been the reason of governments overspending, for example, various countries have spent millions of dollars to make the country look better, which could have been put to better use. We have also examples, wherein due to lax security athletes have been hurt or been infected due to improper sanitation. In conclusion, I would like to say yes, there are problems faced when international sports are organized, but all could be handled by proper management and guidelines, but we also must remember, it's also the ray hope, that help so many people change their lives.