Museums and art galleries should concentrate on local works rather than showing the cultures or artworks from other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A focus should be placed on the works of local artists and local cultural heritages by art galleries and museums rather than exhibiting the artworks or cultures of other nations. I somewhat agree, but I also believe that there should be a balance between showcasing local and international crafts. Firstly, displaying local works helps to grow and develop local content. This helps to preserve local cultures which could be passed down to generations. Also, this helps to promote local artists and enables them to focus on their style and grow in it. For example, showcasing a style of artwork from another country, which may look more appealing than a local art may make a local artist abandon his style and originality for the foreign style thereby underrating and killing the local culture. Secondly, exhibiting the local cultural heritage and arts creates healthy competition within local artists. This indigenous rivalry helps to mine creativity within the nation. This brings about different beautiful arrays of artistic display, which would reflect the rich culture of the background various artists in the country. For example, in Nigeria, we would have various displays from the Yorubas, Igbos, Hausas and Fulanis which would be a true reflection of their locality and heritage. Lastly, while I concur that local arts and heritages should be allowed to thrive, a balanced display of international heritages and works provide exposure to the different cultures that exist. Local artists can also learn some things for foreign works e.g. Packaging could be learned from international exposures. In conclusion, I believe that local content and cultural disposition should be projected. However, I also believe that a good blend of foreign works and heritage is needed for learning, exposure and balance.