In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this...?

Some nations advise secondary school graduates to take travel for about 12 months or sometimes take a job for the same period before going for their post secondary education. This can help young people have a clear idea of what they want to study and also pay for the studies they need. However, it can also make them lose focus. Travelling can give high school graduates the maturity to select a career. When these young people go on vacation for a while to see the world they tend to interact with various people and experience different cultures, thus, expanding their mind this in turn makes them decide what path to take. For instance, a number of pre-university students who went on a tour of the northern states in Nigeria chose the career path of community social workers in order to address the societal and moral decadence in the area. Furthermore, working is also an avenue to save for their higher institution. For instance, 80% of post secondary students in Nigeria have chosen to work as a result of the current hardship in the country to enable them pay for future tertiary studies. On the other hand, the downside of travelling or working before going further to pursue their career goal is the tendency to lose focus. Young pre-university people are very impressionable and can get distracted by things they see, what they experience and monies they make. To give a clear example, recent research by the Lagos State research board concluded that out of the 80% of students who decided to take a trip or take a job before returning to school only 20% actually went back to tertiary institutions quite a number of them lost focus and went on to other things. To conclude, admittedly, it is a good idea for young people to journey or work for a while before going further in their studies Nevertheless, societies should put measures in place to ensure that these goals are met and that the focus is not lost.