Nowadays, many children prefer to spend time playing computer games rather than playing sports. Why so? Is it a positive or negative development?

The ubiquity of technology is undeniable, it has permeated every aspect of our lives including entertainment. So, we can observe many kids prefer playing computer games instead of playing sports nowadays. It has sparked heated controversies that lots of people claiming it has a negative impact on us. I totally agree with that viewpoint for some reasons below. On the one hand, playing games can create senses of cognition and creativity for offsprings, which build for them personal spaces. Children may use games to imagine and immerse themselves in a part of the game. As a consequence, kids will have various perceptions to enhance their senses, thoughts, mindsets,... For instance, we have many academic games like Sudoku, and chess,.. on the virtual game market. We should encourage offspring to conquer what they want, creating core values and broadening their horizon. On the other hand, travelling time to play games too much leads to health problems. In detail, we can easily get eye issues such as red eyes, myopia,..., which cause long-term health problems. Instead, kids should be joined in sports like basketballs, soccer,.. to avoid obesity cases, myopia,... Besides, sports can be seen as a way they relieve stress in school, after a whole stressful week. Playing sports can let off steam which maintains the stability in mental health through stimulating dopamine in neurons.So, schools and parents may organize more extracurricular activities about sports in order to improve health conditions and knowledge for children. In conclusion, even though spending time playing games has some merit points, I am of the opinion that instead of using digital devices for entertainment, kids can play sports to enhance our health condition and maintain mental stability.