Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in groups, while others believe that it’s better for them to study alone. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ on whether it is better for students to study individually or work with their classmates. While there are some obvious advantages to studying alone, I personally believe that group work is more time efficient in terms of acquiring knowledge. On the one hand, the upside of studying alone can be seen evidently by allowing learners to study at their own convenience with little dependence on other people. The process of achieving knowledge is different from each individual in terms of learning style. For example, several learners love to work with information in a systematic and organised way, while there are those who work in a seemingly spontaneous and disorganised manner. Also, in some cases, group study may not work well as study sessions could easily turn into hangout sessions, so working alone seems to be better. On the other hand, I argue that group work brings more significant benefits in effectively acquiring academic knowledge and creating motivation in learning. First, group discussion plays an important role to help students understand what they have learnt, which is normally not understandable at once, from school. Having other students around to help review concepts can also offer a deeper understanding of the class material. Second, many students may derive energy from being around other people and look forward to learning and discussing the material with classmates. This would create inspiration and a positive attitude towards learning, as well as encourage the pursuit of further education. In conclusion, while there are some students who may choose to study alone because they can independently control their study and have no unnecessary distractions from others, it seems to me that group study is more worthwhile regarding comprehensive understanding and learning motivation.