Some people think that the museum should be enjoyable places to entertain people while others believe that that purpose of a museum is to educate. Discuss both views and opinion.

People have different views on whether the museum should be used for education or entertainment. Although educating the civilizations through the museum is crucial, I believe that these could also be used as a source of entertainment. At the outset, one main reason that museums are needed to be used for educational purpose is that these can work as live presentations. As various subjects related to History and Art have been read by people in their schools and institutions, but not every person is capable to remember longer theoretical texts. Thus, by visiting such places the practical aspects of that particular subject have been accomplished and in-depth knowledge can be required. To exemplify, a report produced by the Education Department states that school children who have visited museums can have 60% more grip on the subject of history. On the other hand, by making the museums more enjoyable, more benefit could be achieved. Firstly, due to the influence of cinema and theatre, if we can make museums more entertaining, more visitors and tourists can get attracted towards these significant places. So from an economic viewpoint, by charging reasonable fees, this money could be used for the maintenance of ancient artefacts. Secondly, by increasing the number of tourists, museums can bring laurels to the country. The Madame Tussaud, a wax museum, is a good example of this which has brought a sense of pride for London on the world level. Thirdly, the information could be grasped more easily if it is provided enjoyably. Because learners are more open to the facts and hence, from my viewpoint, entertainment is also beneficial in the field of education, if it is used in museums. In conclusion, it is a matter of debate that what should be the purpose of museums. While museums can be used for providing information, I believe that it' should be entertaining to increase the influence on the public.