University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of students seeking tertiary education in foreign countries has been on the rise in recent years. The drawbacks of this outweigh the positive aspects. There is a plethora of reasons behind the preference for schooling abroad, one of which is the exposure it brings. When a university student school in a foreign land, they get the opportunity to learn from people from other parts of the world with an entirely different socio-cultural background. For example, when my father went to Austria to study education, he was able to speak German language and could also prepare their meals at the end of his study. Furthermore, studying abroad gives graduates an edge in the job market. This is so because it is believed that those who schooled overseas are better equipped. To illustrate, my best friend who studied engineering in Japan got job offers more than those who were home trained. Admittedly, there are some basic advantages of studying abroad, the drawbacks, however, are more important to consider. Firstly, studying in a foreign country can put students in danger. This is usually seen among the blacks who school in countries dominated by whites. The blacks are racially abused and this can result in physical altercations and sometimes death. Secondly, this can also result in social neglect. Students who cannot speak the language where they study find it very difficult communicating with others and this can cause an extreme social withdrawal which can in the long run bring about depression. For example, when I gained admission to study medicine in Germany, I could not make friends or communicate due to language barrier and this made me socially withdrawn. In conclusion, though there are some positive aspects of seeking tertiary education in a foreign land, the risk of being subjected to racial abuse and social withdrawal are more important to consider.