Some people think that children should study formal learning at school as young as possible. Others believe they should not go to school until they are at least 7. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People often wrangle over the optimal age of a child to start formal education. While some are in favour of sending children to school as soon as possible, I contend that children’s readiness for schooling is not until their seventh birthday. Admittedly, there are good reasons to send children to school before 7. If a child is able to perform simple tasks without assistance and carry out instructions without the need to repeat, then school attendance can be considered. The younger they are when they go to school, the more confident they learn to become by making friends with peers and having conversations with teachers. There would be no assistance from parents in class, and they learn to stand on their own feet by putting on a coat, going to the rest room or having meals. Looking at the argument in this light, it is felt that children might be more independent if they are sent to school early. Despite the argument mentioned above, I have every reason to believe that the best age for a child to start formal education is 7. Children in essence would learn best from a play-based program during their formative years, so forcing them to sit and learn before 7 is wrong in the main. At age 7, children have the cognitive ability to learn numeracy and literacy, and are curious about the lessons being taught. Sending them to school early, parents may ruin their curiosity as well as put unnecessary pressure on their offspring when they start learning. Added to this, children may also feel emotionally disconnected as soon as they step out of the comfort zone created by parents. In conclusion, I profoundly believe that children should not be sent to school before 7 even if they are able to perform simple tasks.