Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

In the recent years the government has resorted to increasing the price of petrol as the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. But in my opinion, this will not solve the rising problems, hence in this essay I would like to explain why this might not be the best solution. The two main reasons why I would disagree with this statement is firstly because of the convenience to travel from one destination to another. People would resort to using their own vehicle in order to travel, as the public transport facilities are not well developed. Therefore, it has become unavoidable for people to use their vehicle. Secondly, people are ignorant about the pollution their vehicles are causing to the environment, even though they are well informed regarding climate change and depletion of natural resources. For instance, effects due to the pollution have been discussed all over the world and awareness has been provided through education and social media, but still most individuals even world leaders take this matter lightly.