Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In a recent survey held, it was found that people prefer going to the supermarket rather than small local stores due to the availability of different variety of items. This rapid expansion of stores would make it difficult for local stores to compete with these large supermarkets and hence, I strongly agree that it could lead to the closure of local business which would bring about a death of local communities. Therefore, in this essay I would like to point out a few reasons for the same. The availability and accessibility of a wide variety of household items provided by them play a major role in bringing about the closure of local business. It is a one stop destination to get all the necessary items required for the house. For example, when comparing the Lulu supermarket with a local shop we will find that the range of items available would be much more. Hence, this would attract more people towards supermarkets. Another point that I would like to highlight is the convenience provided by them is greater due to the walking spaces and parking lots provided especially for parents having infants or tiny tots. For instance, when I went to buy groceries with my infant, I found it more convenient to take him through the supermarket rather than a cold store due to the immediate assistance and a lesser crowd. In addition, they also provide certified nanny facilities that take care of children while we complete our shopping which further enhances our experience. To conclude, availability, accessibility and convenience provided at these outlets play a major role why people prefer it over small scale stores. So, unless governments intervene in this issue and encourage small scale stores to handle competition, they would find it hard to survive. Further, this could lead to serious unemployment in major cities and serious risk to household incomes.