In many countries today, people in big cities prefer to live alone or in small family units rather than larger, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays living alone or in small family units is preferable for many citizens in big cities. Hence, there exists a debate about whether the trend is beneficial or not. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand with the opinion that it is negative to society as the condition will raise the social burden. Initially, one of the main arguments in favour of living alone or in small family units is that the costs in big cities are too high to afford for large families. As daily expenditures like rental fees, food, transportation and so on will be relatively higher in big cities than in small ones, living alone or in small family units is a practical option to save expenses. In other words, citizens have no choice but to possibly limit the number of family members so as to maintain life quality in big cities. Therefore, the tendency is a result of environmental challenges. At the other end of the spectrum, the condition will elevate the social burdens as ageing care will be no longer a private issue. Because there are more and more elderly who live alone, their health care may become a public problem since they probably have no families. Thus, the government will have to involve more resources in social welfare. Thanks to medical development,life expectancy has been significantly extended which means ageing health care will be prolonged. Furthermore, the plummeted birth rate will threaten the existence of human beings. According to the aforementioned, the situation indeed brings about demerits to society. To sum up, despite the fact that living alone or in small family units is a wise choice in big cities,its harmful consequence to the world cannot be ignored. Thus, the authorities need to implement some polio to decrease living costs in big cities so as to stop the vicious cycle.