More and more people want to own famous brand name cars, clothes and other items. What are the reasons for this? Is this a negative or positive trend?

With the rapid advancement in technology in the last century, the markets are flooded with enormous varieties of products and consumables. A growing number of people are interested in buying branded vehicles, dresses and other items. This essay will explain in detail, the causes of the brand preferences of individuals and the various disadvantages behind the same. Let us look at the different possible reasons why people are opting for well-known brands. First, the disposable income of the general public has undergone a major growth in the last 30 years. For example, the highly expensive Apple iPhones are owned by school children these days and it is mainly on account of their parents' affordability. Second, Marketing is happening at a whole new level now a days, associating the products with prestige and esteem value. So, people believe that if they own a particular item, they will be respected by their friends. Third, when a celebrity endorses a specific item, the fans of that celebrity tend to become associated with that label as well. People's adherence and admiration for brands may not always result in the best outcomes. For instance, Ford company had a large following for its cars. But, in 1990, the model XUV189, released by Ford, had major security issues and the air bag failed to open during an accident. Later, it was found that all the cars of this model had the same issue and were recalled from the market. Thus, loyalty to a particular brand can lead to extraordinary and untested confidence, resulting in complacence on the part of manufacturers. Furthermore, most of the promotions are based on superficial traits such as gender attraction, respect, dignity and pride. Although the adverts may look great, these traits cannot be really measured in quantitative terms. In a nutshell, the promulgation of the majority of the products in the market happens by relating to qualitative and superficial parameters, which cannot be measured. Therefore, the blind belief on brand names is definitely a negative sign. It is recommended that customers take into consideration the value addition of a particular product to their lives rather than be carried away by the promotions and adverts.